posterSSP16 webThis year again a large number of Faculty applied to be a Chair of either the core lectures, departments or team projects, all of which compose the two-month Space Studies Program.

After confirmation from ISU’s Academic Council on the selection of the chairs for SSP16, Dr. John Connolly, SSP16 director states: "During SSP16, ISU will, for the first time, nominate "Associate Chairs".  The Associate Chair position recognizes talented younger members of the ISU community and allows them to gain some important experience in partnership with a senior faculty member."

Dr. Su-Yin Tan, University of Waterloo, SSP16 Core Co-Chair, and SSP16 Space Applications Department Chair adds: “As the first SSP to be hosted in the Middle East, SSP16 promises to be a fascinating session and I am delighted to continue serving as Core Co-Chair.  I look forward to working with ISU and local staff and inviting international experts to Israel to speak about all interdisciplinary aspects of space.  It will also be a pleasure to Chair the Space Applications Department, since Israel's remote sensing satellites are amongst the best worldwide with many companies engaged in satellite operations, development and manufacturing of satellites, and the sale of telecommunication and remote sensing services.  This will offer a wealth of technical activities and visits that will enable participants to learn about the important role of civil and commercial space applications in Israel.”

Congratulations to the SSP16 chairs, co-chairs and associate chairs!

Core Chair 1: Su-Yin Tan, Canada
Core Chair 2: Chris Welch, UK
APP Department Chair: Su-Yin Tan, Canada
ENG Department Chair: Joe Pellegrino, USA
ENG Associate Chair: Maya Glickman-Pariente, Israel
HPS Department Chair: Kris Lehnhardt, Canada
HPS Associate Chair: Ana Diaz Artiles, Spain
HUM Department Co-Chair: Norah Patten, Ireland
HUM Department Co-Chair: Geoff Steeves, Canada
MGB Department Chair: Adil Jafry, USA
PEL Department Chair: Chris Johnson, USA
SCI Department Chair: Rene  Laufer, Germany
TP Big Data Chair: Barak Fishbain, Israel
TP Big Data Associate Chair: Rogan Shimmin, Australia
TP Mars Environment Chair: Jacob Cohen, USA
TP MEC Chair: Remco Timmermans, Netherlands

The Space Studies Program (SSP), an intense two-month professional development course for postgraduate students and professionals of all disciplines, is a unique educational experience. The curriculum covers the principal space related fields, both non-technical and technical and ranges from policy and law, business and management and humanities to life sciences, engineering, physical sciences and space applications. SSP16, the 29th Space Studies Program session will be hosted by the Technion Institute of Technology, Haifa in Israel in 2016 from 12 July to 1 September 2016.

Further information:
Applications online:

  1. Management
  2. Chairs
  3. Academics
  4. TAs
  5. Logistics
  6. Public Relations
  7. IT
  8. SEAC & TP Editors
  9. Participant Liaison & Library

SSP16 Host Institution

Technion Logo Eng Ver White

Technion City, Haifa, Israel

The Technion – Israel Institute of Technology was founded in 1912 in Haifa and is the oldest university in Israel and the Middle East. The university offers degrees in science and engineering, and related fields such as architecture, medicine, industrial management and education.

The Technion is a science and technology research university, among the world’s top universities, dedicated to the creation of knowledge and the development of human capital and leadership, for the advancement of the State of Israel and all humanity.

The Technion is noted as a global pioneer in multidisciplinary research into fields including energynanotechnology, and life science.

The Technion has 4 Nobel Laureates, a graduate and 3 faculty members.

More about the SSP16 host institution:
Welcome to Technion
Technion Map in English (PDF)
SSP16 Campus map



The SSP16 is supported at different levels. ISU would like to thank the following organizations for their generous support:

Eng Ver Blue ASRI logo

Host Institution


Local Sponsors


MoSTS Logo

Ilan Ramon Foundation

Haifa Municipality Israel ADELIS logo 10ans
IAI BEDEK white Rafael Advanced Defense Systems Logo
logoelbit ENG ELAL


Major Sponsors

ADELIS logo 10ans Axiom SPACE
Haifa Municipality Israel IAI BEDEK white
1280px Lockheed Martin.svg Aerospace


Program Supported By

China Space Foundation   ESA

MoSTS Logo

Ilan Ramon Foundation

Boeing logo UK Space Agency

For more information about sponsorship application and promotional opportunities, please contact us.